Home » Uncategorized » My tiny truck…

My tiny truck…

All Filled Up

That’s what Duane called it when I drove into his driveway in Parker already filled up in back with some gently used bamboo flooring that Dana was trying to get out of her garage.  I am the “cleaner-outer  of garages”.  My own becoming fuller by the day, I rid others of those things that they have had just a little too long or never needed in the first place.  The flooring that didn’t quite work.  Duane, an ex-contractor, was looking in every corner for what might help with my project.  His wife wants to downsize into a tiny house (I think their house now looks to be a few thousand square feet.  Duane didn’t seem to be jumping at the opportunity tho’ he certainly has a garage full of materials and a body that has built houses for 30 years).

My truck, as he called it so aptly, is a Toyota Yaris Hatchback.  On this particular Bitty Dragon Pick-Up day, I fit two windows, 50 square feet of bamboo flooring, a roll of very heavy (much heavier than it looks) metal flashing to keep out the rodents, some very aged wood (cedar) that I like– siding?  I drive into this neighborhood to pick up one window, and notice practically every house has some scrap wood, a mattress, old drawers, carpet… you name it, out on the lawn… getting wet in the unlikely Colorado rain.  Me, in my truck, driving about, stopping occasionally.  It’s the end of the day.  My truck is full.  I’m tired, but look at all the free stuff.  I cannot pass up the opportunity to “shop”.  The man with the wood I collect, says it is “put your junk on the street” week in this part of Arvada.  People have a lot of junk.  My little take away making a little more space in the landfill for something else, a little less in my truck, and perhaps saving a little something that might still have some life in it.  My car smelling of aged cedar, me full of the day, head home to get my man to help me unload it into a very full garage.

Leave a Reply

