Home » Uncategorized » Half Way Through May

Half Way Through May

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about my tiny house.  Not that things haven’t been happening, but they are more the kinds of things that are happening under the surface, like the way seeds start to imagine their life while they are still deep in the ground.  I’ve been in a process of imagining my tiny house, of questioning, dreaming, designing and re-designing things in my head (usually late at night near the full moon it seems).  AND I haven’t had a lot to say.

But, it has been raining the last week ALOT which is wonderful in our climate that usually has a lot of drought, and the snow is finally all melted, and sure enough the tender green shoots are coming up.  We’ve even planted our garden finally after 3 weeks of late spring snow.  So, it is time, to put these visions “on the ground”, rather than let them linger in the air any longer.  Let the beauty happen, let the mistakes happen.

I just went out to the garage.  Our garage is full of things like any garage is full of things.  Reminding me of the huge longing to DOWN size, to let go of, especially now in the Spring.  I’ve always loved living simply, the times in my life when for whatever reason, I’ve had one room and all my belongings fit it that one room.  It’s kind of like having things out in the open “literally” instead to swept under a rug, pushed into a closet or the garage, to be dealt with LATER.  It makes me feel at ease.  I wonder if our cultural obsession with STUFF has a lot to do with all of the unseen psychic baggage that in much the same way gets pushed into a place deep enough in the closets of our consciousness that it needn’t ever be addressed–except of course when it shows up as an angry dragon or some child self stomping out of the room after a disagreement.  Just sayin’.

Anyway, back to the garage and the growing collection of tiny doors and not so tiny windows.  I do not buy into the idea that ascetically, a tiny house needs tiny windows (one of the many ideas gleaned at the recent Tumbleweed workshop I attended–plenty of other ideas that I loved).  I’d rather have light and air and a feeling that my tiny house really belongs to the outdoors more than it belongs to the indoors.

So, I’m standing in the garage, trying to make some order of things.  Do I really need to order things?  I ask myself.  Everything here that I have is unique.  I have a pile of things waiting for a place in my tiny house.  I have a design, half completed.  I have helpers coming to help.  I have a trailer half bought (I LOVE it!).  I have half my insulation.  I have half the participants I need to an upcoming carpentry workshop I’m hosting in said garage.  I have half figured out where to put my tiny house on the land that we live on.

It is half way through the month of May, and my vision is still to start building the last week of May.  But all I need to begin, is my trailer and my supplies for my decking (which I half have).  My half crazy philosophy is to take this all one day at a time, to accomplish each phase of this one phase at a time, to improvise, and to trust that the right supplies and right people with show up at precisely the right moment or at least within a day or two of the right moment. And to have FUN.

The glass is half full.

DownloadedFile

Leave a Reply

